• Live Life Inspired. Dream With Possibility! Donna Downey
  • August 2007
    S M T W T F S
        Sep »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Categories

  • Follow me on Twitter – michaelcsmommyj

  • Top Posts

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Top 21 Craft Sites
  • Directory of Crafts Blogs
  • Blog Directory

Basic Grey Lamp

This lamp was a fun little project. I bought a pair of these lamps on clearance because I loved the base. However they had these boring little white lampshades on them that didn’t do them justice. I had a decoratable lamp shade (covered in adhesive, meant to add fabric etc. to them) hanging around so I thought I’d make one of them match my living room better. I had some really old (think it’s from the first or second release) Basic Grey paper hanging around that had colors pulled perfectly from my room, so I decided to use it here. The lampshade comes with a template, which I used to cut my papers. I wanted the paper to remain in the same orientation, so I did have to use four pieces to keep the design facing the same direction (had that not been important two would have sufficed) and then I used velvet ribbon from Flair on the seams and a rickrac along the bottom edge. I think the whole project took about a half an hour – cut, adhere right to the sticky lampshade, glue on the ribbon and rickrac and voila! Instant custom lampshade that looks awesome in my living room!
One Response

  1. Cool use for that BG paper! I love your thinking …

Leave a Reply

