• Live Life Inspired. Dream With Possibility! Donna Downey
  • August 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Jul   Sep »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Categories

  • Follow me on Twitter – michaelcsmommyj

  • Top Posts

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Top 21 Craft Sites
  • Directory of Crafts Blogs
  • Blog Directory

Magazine Review – Crafts ‘n Things October 2008

I won’t do one of these every Monday, but I will try to post them on Mondays when I do decide I need to, lol!  I have to admit, this magazine has really impressed me since they purchased the stamp magazine and integrated everything.  They do a really nice job of including a great variety of projects and I love looking at each one, even if they are crafts I don’t actually do (like knitting) – inspiration can be found in some surprising places.

Of course, first of all I have to mention that on page 40 you have to check out the Zsiage ad on the bottom right – yup, that’s my little project!  You can see the whole thing here and here, but it’s always fun to see it in print, lol!  Ok enough about me – here are some of the things that inspired me from this issue!

Page 13 – my beloved little $1 wooden gift bags used as a floral arrangement by Michelle Tardie.  What a cute use for these!  I’d try it but my floral arranging “skills” are…somewhat lacking, lol!  But the bag itself is adorable too!

Page 47 – that Boo wall hanging by Kristen Swain is just too cute!  And it also reminds me I still need to photograph and share the make-n-take Boo banner I made at the Little Yellow Bicycle booth at CHA!

Page 54 – how cute is that pumpkin bag by Tiffani Smith!  And where the heck can I get my hands on one of those little paper mache bags???

Pages 64 and 65 – this chipboard article by Roberta Wax is really well done.  If you’re new to paper crafting and intimidated by chipboard or just haven’t tried it yet, this is a great starter article!  Lots of tips and information about the various supplies and tools. I love chipboard!!

Page 76 – this clock by Kelly Grundhauser is just plain gorgeous!  LOVE what she did with the alcohol inks and KI lace paper!  I have some in white that I bought white specifically so I COULD alter the color easily and now I just want to pull it out and play!

Page 89 – that technique with UTEE Sandy Wisneski used for her card looks really cool!  Gotta try this!

Pages 96 and 97 – another good basics article on collage by Roberta Wax

Page 100 and 101 – ok, so this is a sweater.  But look at the color chart for the giraffe!  This could be duplicated in lots of different mediums!  Look for this giraffe to show up at some point on my blog as the template for a technique on converting patterns…

Page 114 – Mary Ayres’ tote is just too cute!  And can’t you see that pattern as a paper piecing?

Page 118 – I’m not an angel person, but i LOVE the tree and holly on Mary Ayres’ quilted pillow!  I’m thinking I need to use these patterns in paper as well!

Page 120 – All three of Sherry Wright’s candles are cute but I REALLY love the button tree!

Page 130 – Tart pan wall hangings by Mary Ayres – too cute for words!

Page 141 – I’ve been making various little pendants like this one by Jennifer and Kitty O’Neil (a few of which I’ll be sharing with you today along with a technique I’ve figured out to substitute acrylic for the glass, resulting in a lighter piece) but I got some ideas from this one I can’t wait to try!

Page 142 – Sherrie Siemens’ stamped and pieced pillow makes me want to make pillows now!  Good thing I’ve loaned out my sewing machine, lol, because I think I have all the obsessions I need for the moment!  But the design itself would lend itself well to making a card, or an altered object…

One Response

  1. After reading this, I have to buy the magazine. Thanks for the review.

Leave a Reply

