• Live Life Inspired. Dream With Possibility! Donna Downey
  • October 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Sep   Nov »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Categories

  • Follow me on Twitter – michaelcsmommyj

  • Top Posts

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Top 21 Craft Sites
  • Directory of Crafts Blogs
  • Blog Directory

Ready to get back to altered stuff?

Hehe, I know I’ve been posting a lot of cards lately!  Don’t worry – my love affair with Mod Podge hasn’t waned! I’ve been making tons of holiday items though, that will be in upcoming issues of Scrapbook News + Review.

Speaking of holiday items, the Scrapbook Trends holiday special “Celebrate the Holidays” is out!  I have one project in there – my first with them!  It’s an altered tissue box cover and it’s on page 96.  I have to admit, they made some changes to my supply list and instructions that really make a difference (I’m not too happy with the editing they did).

Sooo, if you’re interested, I did NOT use “glitter” on this, I used DecoArt’s Glistening Snow Writer.  So where they changed the instructions to say “add glitter to the edges”, it’s not nearly the messy involved process they make it out to be (when thinking of trying to put down glue or tape, then glitter then tap off…).  The Snow Writer works pretty much like Stickles – just squeeze it on through the tip.  They also pulled Mod Podge from the supplies (but at least left it in the instructions).  They also omitted the part where you need to use a craft knife to slit the paper where the bottom tray pulls out.

I’ve never had a magazine make such drastic editorial changes and I’m still debating whether this keeps me from ever submitting to them again.  I love sharing my work, but if it’s done so that there is no way possible people could reproduce it if they wanted, is it worth the pretty picture in the magazine?  This was one of the simplest altering projects I’ve done – totally suitable for a beginner.  However most beginners couldn’t read those instructions and be able to do it.  Someone familiar with the techniques, yes, would know what steps were skipped.

Anyways.  Here it is. Of course, their picture is more professional and all. 

Supply list (as sent, not as published) – Patterned paper – Kringle and Toyland from Basic Grey’s Figgy Pudding collection.  Stickers – Figgy Pudding Alphabet Stickers from Basic Grey.  Glistening Snow Writer from DecoArt.  Brown Zig Writer from EK Success.  White Apple Barrel Acrylic paint from Plaid.  Unfinished wood tissue box cover from Hobby Lobby.  Mod Podge from Plaid.  Tools (why do they make us send this if they don’t put it in?) – ruler, trimmer, paintbrush and craft knife.

Leave a Reply

