• Live Life Inspired. Dream With Possibility! Donna Downey
  • October 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Sep   Nov »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Categories

  • Follow me on Twitter – michaelcsmommyj

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Top Posts

  • Top Clicks

  • Top 21 Craft Sites
  • Directory of Crafts Blogs
  • Blog Directory

Mother/son mail center

This was in the September issue of Scrapbook News + Review.  I made this for my son and I to write little letters to each other.  He’s 7 and gets the biggest kick out of writing letters (usually short and sweet “I love you Mommy”) and OMG – does he LOVE envelopes, lol!  So, I took an inexpensive unfinished mail center (Don Mechanic – Michael’s) and covered it with some fun papers from Fancy Pants.  I had originally thought to possibly apply for their DT, but this ended up being the only project I finished.  Plus, I always wonder.  Do any of the manufacturers really want JUST an alterer?  They always ask for scrapbook layouts as well, and I just don’t feel like they show my style.  Anyways. Then I took a wooden gift bag and made a matching stationery holder.  Again, very simple, with the circle designs being cut with an Xacto knife from the paper used in the mail center.  I even made him some stationery.  I took really old pieces of scrapbook paper, cut them down to 6×6 and folded each in half.  The little notecards fit perfectly into regular little envelopes you can get anywhere for about $1 for 100.

4 Responses

  1. This is such a cute idea. What a fun way for you and your son to communicate.

  2. WOW! How sweet and cute is this? I love the paper that you used. Fabulous job on altering the mail center and matching gift bag. Thank you for sharing 🙂

  3. WOW! How sweet and cute is this? I love the paper that you used. Fabulous job on altering the mail center and matching gift bag. Thank you for sharing 🙂

  4. Oh now, that’s cute!! my 5 yo DD is sooooo into writing letters & is obsessed with envy’s too! I have to keep them under lock & key! I love what you did & I bet your DS loves them!

Leave a Reply

