• Live Life Inspired. Dream With Possibility! Donna Downey
  • October 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Sep   Nov »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Categories

  • Follow me on Twitter – michaelcsmommyj

  • Top Posts

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Top 21 Craft Sites
  • Directory of Crafts Blogs
  • Blog Directory

Haunted House

Another inexpensive find at Michael’s, this little wooden haunted house cutout is from Lara’s Crafts – think it was $2.  I covered it with paper from Bo Bunny – my son gave his opinion about not understanding using the word paper (which he thought was way cool though) on a house, but I just liked how the color transitions came out in “house form”.  You know, I keep buying these detailed wooden cutouts and then covering them in paper and THEN remembering why I told myself not to do it again.  It’s seriously a PITA.  If you really want to try this, just plan on spending some quality time with your Xacto knife.  And be careful – it’s easy to slice into the fingers while trying to get all the nooks and crannies of something like this, lol!

I had originally planned to try to get all the details separated out, but the cutout is a little odd in spaces – I wasn’t sure just what parts were actually intended to look like.  so instead I took the easy route and added a bunch of EK stickers.  Those are always fun to play with – several of them have been moved several times (those poor birds) so once I’m SURE I like them where they are (yes, they even got moved while I was photographing, lol), I’ll need to use a secondary adhesive on them for permanence.

I’ll be putting it up with a candle behind it.  If it’s safe.  Right now I’m thinking it might need glitter…or something…   See why I never get anything done?  I keep wanting to add to it later.  And add to it.  LOL!

5 Responses

  1. What an awesome project!

  2. WOW! This is s coolest haunted house I’ve ever seen. I love all the details! Amazing Jenna!!!

  3. Such a cool project!!

  4. I saw this at M’s too and I luv what you did with it 🙂

  5. Love how the paper looks!

    a tip for getting into nooks/crannies – files. I have the kit from BG, but an emery board works too, especially the metal ones. Cut close to the edge and use the file from the outside in to sand the paper off.

Leave a Reply

