• Live Life Inspired. Dream With Possibility! Donna Downey
  • November 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Oct   Dec »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  
  • Categories

  • Follow me on Twitter – michaelcsmommyj

  • Top Posts

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Top 21 Craft Sites
  • Directory of Crafts Blogs
  • Blog Directory

Home Sweet Home Altered Shutter

This was originally a finished seasonal piece I had purchased.  It had cutesy snowmen or something or other and I got tired of it almost immediately, lol, but LOVED the frame itself.  Already distressed and ready to go!  I simply added some My Mind’s Eye papers and cardstock to the centers of the frames.  I used a paper from the same line to cover a Valentine’s Day chipboard heart from Making Memories and use some Stickles to edge it and give a little more pop to the letters.  The little wood houses come four to a pack at Hobby Lobby for a dollar, I believe.

oct-08-altered-artful-rooms-jenna-franklin-home-sweet-home

The mottled look on the “Home” letters was completely a happy accident!  I had attempted to use Glimmer Mist on my Zsiage Scrapbook Film letters and I didn’t like the result.  When I went to spray paint over them, I went right over the Glimmer Mist and got that neat look.  Then I took the Glimmer Mist again over the top and rubbed at it a bit with a damp rag when it was almost dry to give it that little bit of gold.  It looks like aged hammered iron and really went well with the existing hardware.  Sorry the photo really doesn’t do it justice!

sany0003_edited

4 Responses

  1. Very pretty!

  2. Wow -that really looks like aged metal! It’s hard to believe that it’s not. Great job on the shutter!

  3. what a neat project

  4. Holy Cow! That’s totally cool! Cool things happen when you least expect it!

Leave a Reply

