• Live Life Inspired. Dream With Possibility! Donna Downey
  • November 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Oct   Dec »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  
  • Categories

  • Follow me on Twitter – michaelcsmommyj

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Top Posts

  • Top Clicks

  • Top 21 Craft Sites
  • Directory of Crafts Blogs
  • Blog Directory

Boxer Blue Necklace

Some more handmade beads!  I got a pack of the 6×6 Boxer papers from Basic Grey a while back and have found several of the designs are beautifully suited to making beads.  The first one will be going into the November/December special double issue of Scrapbook News + Review magazine, but this one I just put together tonight (I made the beads about a week ago) and honestly, I REALLY love how both of them came out!  For this one I tried finishing the beads using DecoArt’s varnish.  I’m happy with the finish (and just how fast it went), but I’m not as confident on the centers since they didn’t get coated.  I think I want to go back to using at least one dunk into Future Floor Finish then I can topcoat with other things (I’ve been experimenting a lot).  I really want to be able to get these beads finished faster than I can using the Future, but I have yet to find anything that gives such a durable finish.  Anyways.  On this necklace I put the handmade beads together with some snow quartz beads from Cousins and a few silver beads (they look gold in the pics but they are silver) from Fire Mountain Gems.  The clasp is from Blue Moon Beads.

sany0060

sany00611

3 Responses

  1. You make some beautiful pieces 🙂

  2. such a great idea! I linked to your post in my papercraft blog, okay? thanks! blog carnival issue 4

  3. This necklace is beautiful.

    Thank you for sharing this with us.

    Connie

Leave a Reply

