• Live Life Inspired. Dream With Possibility! Donna Downey
  • December 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Nov   Jan »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Categories

  • Follow me on Twitter – michaelcsmommyj

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Top Posts

  • Top Clicks

  • Top 21 Craft Sites
  • Directory of Crafts Blogs
  • Blog Directory

My Christmas tree is full…

I still have an entire box of ornaments that didn’t make it onto the tree, and I still keep making more!  Have I mentioned how much I love Christmas and creating for Christmas?  Well I do.  I keep all my Christmas themed supplies separate and love to paw through them and make stuff pretty much year round (I just don’t subject you to them year round, lol).  I usually add a bunch of new each year, however I’m a traditional kinda gal.  To me, it’s just not Christmas if it’s not red and green.  Now this includes almost every variation of red and green including burgundy and evergreen, holly and ivy, and all that.  I draw the line at pink though.  And lime.  This is the second (or is it third?) year where these colors have popped up in sooooo many collections.  I’m waving my white flag at the manufacturers – I’m done!  I have tried to create using those colors and it’s just not Christmas to me!

Ok.  Off my soap box, lol!  Just had to get that out of my system.  On to today’s little ornament.  I found this bag of little wooden signs at either Michael’s or Hobby Lobby (sorry, can’t remember which – it’s been a while).   They weren’t meant to be seasonal or anything, just in the unfinished wood section in a bag.  A big, lovely 1 lb. bag.  And that bag was only about $6 (it’s been months, lol, sorry for my indeciseveness)…or $5?  Anyways, it was cheap. With lots and lots of a variety of little wooden signs.

sany0020sany0021

I think I originally saw this and thought of making little magnets, but hadn’t gotten around to it and just came across the bag a couple of weeks ago and the ornament lightbulb went off in my head.  There will be plenty left for magnets later, lol!

I put several of these wooden ornaments into the upcoming Nov/Dec double issue of Scrapbook News + Review (look for it to drop on the 6th!), but am still playing.  Wood is such a great base to play with – it takes paints, inks, sprays, papers, heat embossing…love it’s versatility.  I base coated a bunch of them in white and have just grabbed one whenever the mood strikes (so I have a little graveyard of unfinished ones drying here and there, lol).  This particular ornament I stamped on.  The stamp is from Wordsworth (now there’s a company I really miss!), heat embossed in black and then colored in using Sakura glaze pens with tiny dabs of Stickles for the ornament tops.  A couple of ribbon scraps and some tiny jingle bells I’ve managed to keep hidden from Michael (who absconds with them then leaves them here and there so the cat absconds with them and I hear them rolling across the floor in the middle of the night…) and a Making Memories rubon.  So about 10 minutes if you don’t include the drying time.  Not bad.  I love little projects like this that can give you a creative “quickie”.  😉

sany0067_edited

5 Responses

  1. That is adorable!! I just might have to try some of these

  2. this is beautiful!!

  3. These are so adorable. I can’t wait to see more.

  4. those are adorable!!

  5. OMG I love the idea of the wooden ornament… might have to make a trip to look for some of those myself! Thanks for the inspiration.

Leave a Reply

