• Live Life Inspired. Dream With Possibility! Donna Downey
  • December 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Nov   Jan »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Categories

  • Follow me on Twitter – michaelcsmommyj

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Top Posts

  • Top Clicks

  • Top 21 Craft Sites
  • Directory of Crafts Blogs
  • Blog Directory

Peppermint Candy Tree

I bought a package of these paper mache cones at Michael’s ages ago meaning to play with them for Christmas.  They were over in the decoupage section (with the decorative tissue papers and such) by a company called Artifacts and they’re really nice, thick paper mache.  The cones don’t go all the way to a tip though, which made finishing off the top difficult (lol – the reason the bow became part of the design…).

sany0064_edited

I used an EK circle punch to punch out the peppermint candy looking designs from a sheet of Basic Grey paper and just started gluing them onto the base using a liquid adhesive (quick drying, since you have to sit and hold the papers down until it tacks).  After all the circles were attached (and some fidgeting with the top to create a cone where there was none), I added Stickles to the centers for some bling.  Then I misted the whole tree with Glimmer Mists.

sany0067_edited1

I found this piece of nice, satin ribbon but it was a bright red, which didn’t match the darker red in the paper. So I started playing with the glimmer mists and finally after a mixture of a brown and a black mist and spreading it around with my fingers, I got the look I wanted (well, kind of).  It’s a bit splotchy in places, but the paper itself had a bit of a distressed effect as well so I decided I liked it after all.

sany0068_edited

To finish it off, I took a snowflake from Technique Tuesday and covered it in Stickles then added a bunch of rhinestones from Westrim as well.

sany0066

11 Responses

  1. Very cute! I love the big huge bow on the top!

  2. It looks wonderful! Love the stickle centers in the paper!

  3. Gorgeous!

  4. What a great project, very pretty! Love the big bow on top!

  5. Very nice, love the big bow!

  6. WOW! That tree is so adorable! Thanks for sharing!

  7. what a fab tree ! love it ! and the bow is yummy too !

  8. Great holiday project!

  9. Perfect paper for your adorable project!

  10. This is beautiful Jenna! Love it!!!

  11. such a great idea! I linked to your post in my papercraft blog, okay? thanks! blog carnival issue 4

Leave a Reply

