• Live Life Inspired. Dream With Possibility! Donna Downey
  • December 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Nov   Jan »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Categories

  • Follow me on Twitter – michaelcsmommyj

  • Top Posts

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Top 21 Craft Sites
  • Directory of Crafts Blogs
  • Blog Directory

Shout Out Saturday

Well, it’s Saturday again!  How’s everybody doing on getting ready for the holidays?  Those of you who are done – please don’t tell me, lol!  I’m watching it snow (not a fan of snow) and sniffling and sneezing everywhere so I’m pretty sure I’ll get next to nothing done today.  Although I’m hoping to get some little crafts done with Michael to put in the little stockings for his classmates.  Last year during the 90% off season at Michael’s I picked up a ton of cute little felt stockings for about $.07 apiece.  We’re going to use Scribbles to write each name on them, then fill them with little goodies like glittered pencils and such.  Any ideas would be welcome since we can’t send anything like candy (their healthy eating policy…).  Michael will be making Perler bead snowflakes and I think I’m going to make some little matchbook notebooks for them and a small ornament.  Eek.  I only have two weeks to get this done (and yet I’ve known about this all year…).

Anyways, on with this week’s inspirational tour!  I’m LOVING all the Christmas goodies I’ve been seeing everywhere!  So again, most of this week’s links are to Christmas projects.

This tutorial by Emmeline Seet for Graphic 45 shows how to make the cutest cone petal flowers!  While it’s shown as a Christmasy flower, I’m totally going to be putting these on everything for a while, I think!

Terri Davenport made this adorable tree out of older Paper Salon papers that I doubt are still available, however the concept itself is do-able.  Even if you can’t find a paper that the design will do this by itself, you could pretty much make a template and cut your own out of any paper.

Coleen put up a tutorial for making the standard bows you buy at Christmas time out of your scrapbook papers – looks really easy and they turn out really cute!

Got Prima’s?  I sure do!  And can never get enough, lol!  Cathie Filian shows a super quick project that makes a perfect stocking stuffer for little girls (might do this for the little girls in Michael’s class but now I need a little something for the boys!)

You know how I get a kick out of altering the odd, right?  How about the cutest project made from a spam can?   Jenn turned this would-be garbage into the cutest holder for mini cards!

Of course I’m all about the mini’s as well.  I’ve got a mini Christmas birdhouse all queued up to show you tomorrow, but in the meantime, check out these adorable little houses Holly made for a swap (man, I wish I was in that swap!).   The post itself cracked me up as well!

I’ve been trying to get an advent calendar accomplished and obviously it’s just not happening this year.  Cough – ok, so it’s already the 6th!  But anyways, here’s a countdown calendar idea from Sharon Harnist even I could accomplish a version of in just a few hours.  Think I might try to slip that into today’s activities!

Here is the button tree from Queen and Co. that prompted my brad tree the other day.  See why I want one now?  Cute, isn’t it!

I love this wreath Sherry Wright made over on the DreamStreet blog!  I have several wreaths hanging around empty I should be decorating but just haven’t taken the time – this makes me want to drag them out and see what I can do with them!

And one last link, totally off the Christmas path.  I’ve been stalking this blog for a few months now – her jewelry is simply gorgeous!  Her silver work alone is stunning (a GC to her Etsy shop would be at the top of my Christmas list!) But what I really love is that Beth Hemmila is an inspiring artist whose every piece MEANS something.  And I love that she goes into some detail on her blog as to what inspired her and why, etc.  This piece, in particular, just makes gives me a warm fuzzy “I want that” feeling, lol!  I love wolves (there’s a preserve not too far from here I’ve been DYING to get over to) and besides the beauty of the piece itself, it’s the story and research behind it that just puts me into awe over her talents.  I want to be Beth Hemmila when I grow up!  😉

3 Responses

  1. Your little shout-outs are just great – thanks!!!

  2. Thanks for including me!! And those bows are super easy and look great! Thanks for all the great links!

  3. Thanks so much for including me in your shout out. I’m so tickled that you love my work 🙂

Leave a Reply

