• Live Life Inspired. Dream With Possibility! Donna Downey
  • December 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Nov   Jan »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Categories

  • Follow me on Twitter – michaelcsmommyj

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Top Posts

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Top 21 Craft Sites
  • Directory of Crafts Blogs
  • Blog Directory

Wintery Frame

I made this frame (of course it’s one of the Michael’s $1 frames) last weekend from a sketch challenge at SNR’s Christmas crop.  I had skipped some elements (stitching around the outside and the title and journaling section in the top left corner).  The papers are all Basic Grey, outlined with my favorite – cinnamon Stickles.  The whole thing is also heavily sprayed down with Glimmer ist (especially the sides – the silvery blue over the brown paint ties in really nicely with the papers on the front) The picture of it has been sitting here on my computer waiting to be posted, but the frame itself has been sitting on top of my monitor mocking me.  Sitting across the room from it last night I finally figured out I didn’t like it the way it was and finally knew why.  Here’s how it originally looked:

sany0008_edited

Yup, it needed a snowflake up in that corner!  I had known I wanted to use it with a snow day pic of my son (which is also why I “moved” the big roundish element from the bottom right hand corner up a bit – originally it was more of a side of a sunset look and I wanted more of a snowball look so pulled it out of the corner a bit).  So how I hadn’t thought of adding a snowflake before eludes me.  🙂  Maybe because I’m rebelling against winter in general, lol – the only good snowflake is a crafted version, IMO!  So anyways, here’s the final version.  It’s grungeboard (LOVE this holiday themed set – so glad I begged my lss to get it in for me!)  I squished it onto my moonlight white Brilliance pad (my go-to inkpad for snowflakes this winter, lol) then hit it with the same Glimmer Mist (Frost) to get the blue tones into it.  Adhered it with some Helmar Scrap Dots to pop it up a bit then edged it with the cinammon Stickles.  I layered a second grungeboard snowflake covered in Stickles over it with more Helmar Scrap Dots (really loving this stuff!).  I almost started fluffing with it some more, digging through my embellishments to see what ELSE I could add to it, but much as I love the whole layered/piled on look, I just can’t make myself do it most of the time.  I get to a point and just decide “it’s done”.  One of these days though – because I’ll NEVER whittle this stash down if I don’t start getting it USED, lol!

sany0003_edited

sany0004_edited1

sany0005_edited1

2 Responses

  1. Looks great. The colors are perfect 🙂

  2. Very cute frame! I am going to have to check out Michael’s to find some of those!

Leave a Reply

