• Live Life Inspired. Dream With Possibility! Donna Downey
  • January 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Dec   Feb »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Categories

  • Follow me on Twitter – michaelcsmommyj

  • Top Posts

  • Top Clicks

  • Top 21 Craft Sites
  • Directory of Crafts Blogs
  • Blog Directory

Catching up – Love Blocks

Wow.  I keep sitting down to blog and just can’t seem to get it done, lol!  Re-discovered Twittering though, lol, so if you REALLY want to know what’s happening in the oh-so-exciting life of Jenna, you’re welcome to follow me!  I’m michaelcsmommyj on there, since I can’t for the life of me figure out how to put one of those cute little feeds in my sidebar (WordPress has issues with different kinds of code being put on their blogs – apparently the version I tried wasn’t well liked…).  🙂

Meanwhile, I have all kinds of things I need to get caught up on here!  Some projects that I can share (hehe, and some I can’t!), news, several weeks worth of Shout Outs, lol!

So let’s start with a project I made for the Helmar Adhesives DT.  Have I mentioned how much I love their adhesives?  I’m waiting for our DT coordinator to send out new boxes of everything I’ve already run out of, lol!  This started out as just four little unfinished 1.5″ wood blocks (Lara’s Crafts).

sany0003_edited1

I painted all the edges pink (Making Memories) then trimmed the Basic Grey paper to fit.  I used the Helmar Professional Acid Free Glue to adhere the papers to the wood – this really works well for this purpose and dries fast so you can keep moving right along!  I used the Helmar 450 Quick Dry Adhesive to attach the letters.  The letters are actually old L’il Davis Designs clay letters.  They were originally gold and silver but I dabbed on some of the Making Memories paint then added some glitter (Art Institute Glitter) over the top of the wet paint.

sany0005_edited4

I spritzed some Prima flowers (using flowers to mimic leaves as well) lightly with Glimmer Mists and attached them and the rhinestone centers (Westrim) with the Helmar 450 Quick Dry Adhesive as well.

sany0004_edited1

The final step was to use Swarovski beads (Cousin Corp) and Helmar Gemstone Glue to build up the final tower.  It makes a nice little decor item for a tabletop.  🙂

sany0006_edited1

sany0007_edited2

7 Responses

  1. This is gorgeous, love the glittered letters!

  2. wow — beautiful work! this looks gorgeous!

  3. This is really cute! I love it.

  4. Love the block tower- no pun intended! I also love altering letters… I am always armed and ready with my spray paint!

  5. Jenna!! This is absolutely gorgeous! I love it!!! TFS!

  6. This is SUPER awesome!!!!!!!!!!!

  7. You are such a creative spirit! Love it ,but then I always do!

Leave a Reply

