• Live Life Inspired. Dream With Possibility! Donna Downey
  • February 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Jan   Mar »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
  • Categories

  • Follow me on Twitter – michaelcsmommyj

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Top Posts

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Top 21 Craft Sites
  • Directory of Crafts Blogs
  • Blog Directory

Safari Necklace

Ok, so yesterday’s necklace was a really easy one, this one?  Not so much.  Working in two strands like this is something I really don’t do often so I had to totally wing it to guess how to make it work and lay right.  Luckily I guessed right (using 2mm silver beads on the top row and 3mm on the bottom – silver beads from Fire Mountain Gems) and it lays perfectly around my neck.  My main focus was on these lovely acacia seed beads I got from Auntie’s Beads.  I bought bunches of naturals – mainly different seeds and they’ve been sitting around for about a year now and I just happened to pull them out and the design pretty much just decided itself.  I don’t know if most people work from one side or from the middle when working with double-strands, but since I wasn’t sure how this would work, I had to work from the middle.  Let’s just say I found that extremely challenging, lol, to hang onto four wire ends while stringing and counting.   Maybe too much multi-tasking for me, lol.  The silver elephant was a last minute addition after I decided the collar was too predictable.  I had pulled out a baggie I got full of random things I bought at a bead store some time ago and when that little elephant charm came out of the baggie, I thought it would be just perfect with the acacia seeds.  Gotta admit.  From “gee, I’ve had these seeds a while – I should use them”, I ended up with what is probably one of my favorite pieces I’ve made.  Definitely one of the more ambitious, since I usually do strictly simple stringing (shhh, those of you who are saying “But Jenna, that IS still simple stringing – I don’t want to know, preferring to tell myself it was impressive, lol).  My photography on this was less than impressive, I know.  And it’s snowing yet again.  So by the time we see the sun again, I’ll forget that this needs to be re-photographed, lol, so I won’t even promise it!

safari-necklace

safari-necklace-detail1

5 Responses

  1. very very pretty! You have some amazing talents girl! Been checking out all the pretties in your other posts!!

  2. Such a gorgeous necklace. I see why you love it!

  3. ooh, love the wood and silver together! gorgeous work!

  4. Very appealing the way you’ve combined the wood and silver beads for a look that’s earthy yet will still get noticed!

    Dave

  5. That necklace is just amazing, I can’t do little detailed projects like that too much…I don’t have the patience! Love it!

Leave a Reply

