• Live Life Inspired. Dream With Possibility! Donna Downey
  • March 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Feb   Apr »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Categories

  • Follow me on Twitter – michaelcsmommyj

  • Top Posts

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Top 21 Craft Sites
  • Directory of Crafts Blogs
  • Blog Directory

Bittersweet Storage House

This piece was one I featured in an article in the February issue of Scrapbook News + Review on altered items for your craft room/studio.  I gave up on buying pre-made storage for my craft supplies ages ago.  I’ve found that by thinking outside the box I can come up with something custom-fit for just about any supply PLUS I get to alter it – woohoo!  I pretty much stalk the unfinished wood section of Michael’s.  Hobby Lobby is my other option, but I’ve found I don’t like their selection quite as well (or their quality – always check each piece before purchasing!) and they don’t change out their stock as often as Michael’s does.  When I came across this house shadow box (I think it was $5), my mind just raced with all the possibilities for what might fit into those cute little sections!  

sany0058_edited

I’ve pictured here a variety of things that fit into the sections, but I actually use it solely for my Stickles and Glossy/Crackle Accents.  I like having those out and handy plus being able to see the Stickles colors at a glance.

sany0055

First I painted the whole thing with black acrylic paint (Jo Sonja’s by Chroma – it’s a nice, thick paint in a tube.  Step above craft grade, step below artist grade).  Then I started playing with the papers from the Bittersweet line from Basic Grey and just filling in all the spaces.  Paper packs are awesome for projects like this where you want a variety of papers – they’re all pre-coordinated!  I used an Xacto knife to cut out a few strips from one of the papers to decorate the “attic” area.  Then I just started dotting away with Scribbles (Duncan) in a shiny pink to make the edges more interesting.  Even with drying time on the Mod Podge and paint, I think the whole project only took me a couple of hours.  

feb-09-altered-artful-rooms-jenna-franklin-8-storage-house-empty

So next time you’re out at your local craft store, wander through the unfinished wood section and think outside the box!  Take a piece over to the scrapbook section to see what might fit – you might be surprised!!!

10 Responses

  1. wow! WoW! WOW! that is amazing! NICE job!!! love the colors too!

  2. I love your work! What’s with all the posts and no instructions lately? Hope everything’s going well for you. 🙂

  3. This is beautiful Jenna!

  4. This is beautiful Jenna! What a great idea for storing all of those little bottles- love it!

  5. This is fantastic! Did you build the house too?
    Your blog is one of first stops when “surfing” the net!

  6. So incredible! So special out of the ordinary. thank you.

  7. Beautiful storage projects!

  8. OMG, this is so stunning! I wish there’s Michael’s in Singapore. I definitely need a house for my stickles & alcohol inks as well…

  9. This is so beautiful, I saved the link for future reference.

  10. Love this! Great job.

Leave a Reply

