• Live Life Inspired. Dream With Possibility! Donna Downey
  • November 2008
    S M T W T F S
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  
  • Categories

  • Follow me on Twitter – michaelcsmommyj

  • Top Posts

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Top 21 Craft Sites
  • Directory of Crafts Blogs
  • Blog Directory

Bluebell Bracelet

Another piece from the Wearables section of the October issue of Scrapbook News + Review.  Just a simple, fun little bracelet using Bo Bunny paper Mod Podged to small wood tiles.  Each tile got edged with Stickles then I used a Crop-A-Dile to get the holes for the jumprings.  I added some coordinating beads to the jumprings because I had to use such large jumprings it just looked empty until those little beads made everything come together!  The magnetic clasp made this much easier to put on/take off.

oct-08-altered-wearables-jenna-franklin-bluebell-bracelet

sany0012

In answer to the question about where to find the tiles, I buy lots and lots of similar items.  Check in any craft store in the unfinished wood section.  They are usually bagged and hanging and come in various shapes, sizes, and mixes – all very inexpensive.  Please note that there will generally be some warped pieces in each bag so just check each piece before you use it and if you need a certain number, grab an extra bag just to be sure you have enough.

As for using Scrabble tiles, yes, you can make a bracelet with them, however I would probably change how you do it.  Since a Crop-A-Dile isn’t going to go through it, you’ll need to use a drill.  Because the tiles are smaller than these (but much thicker), I’d recommend going through from the side rather than the top and stringing them rather than having to use really huge jumprings.

6 Responses

  1. How cute! Where do you find wood tiles like that? That would be a fun project to try.

  2. Super cute idea! I think you could even use Scrabble tiles perhaps?

  3. Very cute and I promise I have your box ready to go but just havent made it to the post office yet. Please forgive me for being a slow poke 🙂

  4. Another fabulous piece of jewelry! 🙂

  5. That is super cute. I love the glittered sides.

  6. so darling… love the colors in this piece!

Leave a comment